TOGAF – Standard update FAQs

Late 2022, The Open Group released a new version of the TOGAF standard and compiled a list of FAQs. For full details please see the official document here.

We have compiled some of the more relevant ones here for your benefit:

Q: What does the TOGAF Certification Portfolio include? 

A: The TOGAF certification portfolio encompasses the TOGAF 9 certifications, TOGAF Enterprise Architecture certification, TOGAF Business Architecture certification, and TOGAF certification credentials. This includes Bodies of Knowledge based on both the TOGAF Standard, Version 9.2 and the TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition. It includes a set of complementary learning paths centered around the TOGAF Standard, and the TOGAF Library, focused on the TOGAF approach to Enterprise Architecture. The paths include different amounts of learning, ranging from short certification credentials (3 hours study or more) to multi-day certifications.  New learning paths introduced to support the TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition include direct paths from TOGAF 9 Foundation and upwards, and recognition of TOGAF 9 certification with the bridge path. 


Q: Why is there no TOGAF 10 Foundation or TOGAF 10 Practitioner? 

A: An explicit decision has been made to decouple the naming of the certification from the standard. The certifications are based on the Bodies of Knowledge defined in the conformance requirements documents.  This will allow the standard to evolve independently of the certification. 


Q: Since the TOGAF® Standard, 10th Edition has a lot more content than the TOGAF Standard, Version 9.2 does that mean that there is more learning content for TOGAF Enterprise Architecture Practitioner certification compared to TOGAF 9 certification? 

A: No, the learning content is based on a defined Body of Knowledge and a set of conformance requirements. The amount of learning content has been carefully selected to meet the goals of the certification.  

Q: Will my TOGAF 9 certification expire? 

A: No – Certifications for TOGAF 9 Foundation, and TOGAF 9 Certified do not expire. 

Q: Will TOGAF 9 training and certification continue? 

A: Yes – The Open Group will continue to support the TOGAF 9 certification learning paths within the TOGAF certification portfolio indefinitely.  

Q: What is the impact of the TOGAF® Standard, 10th Edition on my TOGAF 9 certification? 

A:The TOGAF certification portfolio has been updated to include new learning paths based on bodies of knowledge defined from the TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition. Supported learning paths include new opportunities for continued professional development and recognition of TOGAF 9 certification as a prerequisite.  

Q: Has my TOGAF 9 certification lost its value? 

A: No – TOGAF 9 certification is widely required in the job marketplace as evidenced by recent job surveys, and is expected to continue to be so. The knowledge acquired by obtaining TOGAF 9 certification is carried forward — the universal concepts and the ADM from the TOGAF Standard, Version 9.2 have evolved to become the TOGAF Fundamental Content within the TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition. Existing TOGAF 9 certifications are also recognized as prerequisites for the new learning paths being introduced to support the TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition.  

Q: I am TOGAF 9 Certified, how can I become TOGAF Enterprise Architecture Practitioner certified? 

A: Individuals who hold the TOGAF 9 Certified qualification are able to add TOGAF Enterprise Architecture Practitioner certification via a bridging path recognizing their existing knowledge. This bridging path focuses on the new and expanded features of the TOGAF Standard, 10th Edition. 

Q: How long will the bridging path be available for those with the TOGAF 9 Certified Qualification?

A: At the time of writing there is no set date for withdrawal. We will give 18 months’ notice of the withdrawal of the bridging path.