Breaking down the TOGAF methodology

There are currently many frameworks to choose from, such as PRINCE 2 and ITIL, and it can often seem difficult to choose the right one. However, there's really only TOGAF for improving business efficiency.

This article will explore what TOGAF is, where it can best be utilised and a look at the various training modules available for IT professionals and companies.


TOGAF is an enterprise architecture methodology that's used by organisations across the globe to drive business efficiency. It's also one of the most reliable standards, able to ensure consistent methods and communication among enterprise architecture professionals.

One of the most powerful aspects of TOGAF is the strong backing provided by the Open Group. This group constantly works with both the customers and suppliers of IT products and services, along with numerous other standards organisations to integrate key emerging requirements.

In addition, these organisations share best practices to ensure interoperability and consensus. This means those who learn TOGAF are taking on a framework that's both adaptable and capable.

Where it's useful

This framework is used by businesses to drive efficiency, but also enterprise architecture professionals. Those who take part in the associated courses can enjoy greater industry credibility, career opportunities and improved job effectiveness.

As TOGAF is designed by the Open Group, it means professionals aren't locked into proprietary methods, and can utilise available resources more effectively. In turn, this versatility offers a far greater return on investment.

Such a strong course should be the first choice for those needing a tool to improve business efficiency.

The training modules

A four-day training program is the best way to gain certification with TOGAF, one that covers a practical application of the framework in realistic scenarios. The course available from ALC Training/PDA is split into two modules, each taking place across two days. 

Below, the Foundation module and the Practitioner module have been broken down and explained. Before going ahead with such a course it's a good idea to understand how they're utilised.

Foundation module

The Foundation course is a classroom-based learning experience, and covers the Foundation Level 1 curriculum. This focuses on examples of architecture deliverables and artefacts – essential in developing an understanding of how TOGAF works.

Once these examples have been appropriately covered, participants are able to take part in the TOGAF Level 1 exam, which is also called the TOGAF 9 foundation. This essentially provides validation that the participant has gained the necessary knowledge of TOGAF 9.

Users will learn the basic concepts of TOGAF and enterprise architecture, as well as the core concepts and terminologies of TOGAF 9.

Practitioner module

Upon completion of the Foundation module, it's time to move on to the next step – the Practitioner module. This is the second two-day course and is also based in a classroom environment.

It takes the knowledge of TOGAF 9 gained in the prior course and focuses on how participants can use it practically within real environments. This course is essentially building on the foundation knowledge and comprehension gained in the first module.

Another primary focus of this second course is validating that candidates can analyse and apply this knowledge. The primary learning objectives are essentially on application and analysis, as well as knowledge and comprehension.

There's also a focus given to the following areas:


There's no denying the usefulness of strong frameworks and both businesses and IT professionals alike should consider an appropriate training course. Learning these methodologies will prove useful in an ever-changing IT sector.

Speak to ALC Training/PDA today if you'd like to find out more about getting started with these frameworks.