CGEIT – Governance of Enterprise IT: Exams and Stuff

The CGEIT Exam 

The CGEIT exam is set, conducted and marked by ISACA.  All exams will be conducted online via computer-based testing centres around the world.

Exam vouchers via ALC

You can book your CGEIT exam direct with ISACA (see below) or else you can purchase an exam voucher via ALC (we are an ISACA Accredited Channel Partner) and have both course and exam on the one invoice.

If you want to purchase via ALC please make sure, when making your online registration, that you indicate “CGEIT Course + Exam” in the COMMENTS field and that you choose the PAY BY INVOICE option (do not select the PAY BY CARD option).

The voucher will be issued to you at the end of the course together with full instructions as to how to register for the exam. Please note that the actual exam registration is done direct with ISACA using the voucher code issued to you.

For more information on how to register for an ISACA exam, please refer to the exams page on the ISACA website.


The CGEIT Exam

The CGEIT exam consists of 150 multiple-choice questions, given during a four-hour session, that cover five job practice domains. The task and knowledge statements within each domain are intended to depict the tasks performed by individuals who have a significant management, advisory, or assurance role relating to the governance of IT and the knowledge requirements to perform these tasks. They are also intended to define the roles and responsibilities of the professionals performing IT governance work. The job practice domains and percentages below indicate the emphasis of questions that will appear on the exam. The CGEIT exam contains some questions which are included for research and analysis purposes. These questions are not separately identified and not used to calculate the candidate’s final score.


The CGEIT Credential

To earn the CGEIT credential, an individual must:

  1. Achieve a passing score on the CGEIT exam. A passing score on the CGEIT exam, without completing the required work experience as outlined below, is only valid for five years. If the applicant does not meet the CGEIT certification requirements within the five year period, the passing score is voided.
  2. Submit an application with verified evidence of five years of work experience. An applicant must provide evidence of management, advisory or oversight experience associated with the governance of the IT-related contribution to an enterprise. Five years of such experience is required and is defined and described specifically by the CGEIT job practice domains and task statements. Work experience must be gained within the 10-year period preceding the application date for certification or within five years from the date of initially passing the exam. Specifically, an applicant must have a minimum of one year of experience relating to the definition, establishment and management of the Framework for the Governance of Enterprise IT in alignment with the mission, vision and values of the enterprise. (CGEIT domain 1) and; Additional broad experience related to any two or more of the remaining domains (CGEIT domains 2 through five 5. For a list and description of the CGEIT domains see below.)
    • Exception: two years as a full-time university instructor teaching IT governance related subjects at an accredited university can be substituted for every one year of experience.
    • It is important to note that individuals may choose to take the CGEIT exam prior to meeting the experience requirements. This practice is acceptable and encouraged, although the CGEIT designation will not be awarded until all requirements are met.
  3. Agree to abide by the ISACA Code of Professional Ethics which can be viewed at
  4. Agree to comply with the CGEIT Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Policy, which can be viewed at